Print work

Standard

I got some off cuts of lino (lots of places get rid of these by dumping them, so they are free to get if you ask nicely!)

20131112_212915

and after a quick clean down with baby wipes to get rid of the dirt etc I used the back of this lino to draw out some ideas for print work.

20131111_212913

using a craft knife I cut in round the lines I had drawn out, the problem with this is that while I could get paint/ink into the grooves it doesnt really print as it should.

So, with proper lino cutting tools I made a much bigger version!

DSCF2242

I did a few other experiments and used a scrap of lino to do a quick sample of all the different cutters I have to see the different effects and make notes onto the lino round these samples for my personal reflection book.

The main issue with the above lino cut, other than the fact that when i tried to print I clearly made enough of an impression on the lino as I would have wanted to get all the detail, is that it is very tough as I found out to my peril and is how I found out the importance of health and safety.

WARNING – PICTURE OF INJURY BELOW

20131112_170807

this was it initially, it was much more messy after as blood got everywhere and I couldn’t get it to stop and it ran down my arm, down my clothes and across everything and freaked out my brother. I’m going to see about a tetanus shot tomorrow as I can’t remember when my last one was.

Leave a Reply

